You may be entitled to have the records and files relating to your case expunged if either of the following is true:
- You were declared not guilty and/or acquitted after a trial.
- Your case was dismissed over 180 days prior.
If you were a juvenile or a minor at the time of the offense, please see the page for getting non-adult criminal records expunged.open_in_new
Determine which law enforcement agencies have records or files subject to expunction. The form contains a list of local agencies, but there may be others. You must provide the agency’s name and the complete mailing address.
You may only include one arrest event per expunction petition. Make sure that you include:
- All of your personal information and any aliases that you are aware of
- All information about your arrest (may be a non-custodial arrest a.k.a “a ticket”) such as:
- Date of arrest
- Arresting agency
- Home address at time of arrest
- Location of arrest
- All information about the charges arising from the arrest, including:
- The Court involved
- Case number
- Disposition of the charge(s)
- A copy of the final disposition showing the dismissal or acquittal
Submit the petition.
Municipal Court, P.O. Box 2135, Austin, Texas 78768
Pay the $100 fee.
There is no expunction filing fee if you file within 30 days of a finding of Not Guilty.
3-5 business days after submitting your petition, search for your case in the online portalopen_in_new to pay related fees.
Call (512) 974-4800
Mail a check or money order to Municipal Court, P.O. Box 2135 Austin, Texas 78768.
If you are not mailing the payment along with the petition, include your case number (found through the case portalopen_in_new) and contact information in your correspondence.
Do not send cash or credit card information in the mail.
Upon receipt of payment, a hearing will be scheduled for you. At the hearing, the judge will rule on the expunction petition. You may attend the hearing, but it is not required.
Get a criminal record expunged
If you meet certain criteria you may be eligible to have records of an arrest or citation removed from your criminal history. The Austin Municipal Court can only expunge Class C (fine-only) misdemeanors from Travis County.