You are not eligible for a deferral for a moving violation if you received your citation while driving in a construction zone when workers were present. Otherwise, there are two ways to request to take a driver safety course and get your moving violation charges dismissed.
Statute-based driver safety course request
You can request to take a driver's safety courseopen_in_new and pay $144.00—or $169.00 if the offense happened in a school zone—if all of the following information is true. You:
- Have a Texas driver’s license or active military personnel and their dependents or have a valid student ID attending a Texas college.
- Have current, valid insurance.
- Do not have a commercial driver's license.
- Were not driving a commercial vehicle.
- Have not taken a driving safety course in the past 12 months.
- Were not cited for speeding 95+ mph or 25+ mph over the speed limit.
- Were not charged with leaving the scene of a collision.
- Were not charged with passing a school bus.
- Are placing this request before your initial appearance date.
Your request will be approved or denied based on whether you meet the criteria set out by Texas Statuteopen_in_new.
Moving violation deferral request
If you do not meet the criteria above but you are eligible to request a deferralopen_in_new, you can request a deferral for a moving violationopen_in_new and pay the associated fees, which you can find in the court's online case portalopen_in_new after your application is processed. Like the statute-based driver safety course request, the moving violation deferral requires taking a driver safety course in order to have charges dismissed. The difference is the cost and the eligibility criteria.